Evans Chebet won the Boston Marathon for the second time, finishing in 2:05:54.

Hellen Obiri won the women's race, completing a Kenyan sweep of the marathon.

Eliud Kipchoge, the world record holder and two-time Olympic gold medalist, finished sixth in his Boston Marathon debut.

Kipchoge missed his bottle at a water station and was dropped by the lead pack around Mile 20.

Gabriel Geay of Tanzania finished second, while Benson Kipruto, the 2021 winner, finished third.

Marcel Hug of Switzerland won the men's wheelchair race, and Susannah Scaroni of the United States won the women's wheelchair race.

The race included a nonbinary division for the first time, with 27 athletes registered.

The race was held 10 years after the finish line bombing that killed three people and wounded hundreds more.

The event included 264 members of the One Fund community, including those injured by the attack and their families.

A robotic dog named Stompy belonging to the Department of Homeland Security patrolled the start line before the race began.